Sandblasted!


My goodness! So this is what it feels like to have sand pelted in your face. We’ve been in an ongoing sandstorm for the past four hours. I thought it would subside and then, wham! It just kept on pounding. Oh well. I find myself wanting to crawl on my cot and wait it out, but it looks like it might outlast me. As I write this in a small, dirt-covered tent, I find myself periodically brushing off the piles of sand that continue to blow in on top of everything the storm can get it’s sand-filled fingers on.

The past few days have been a scramble as I figure out how the Army operates over here. The structure of the Air Force and Army is very different and it takes some getting used to. For the most part though, the Army treats the Air Force personnel very well. They understand we are filling their manning void and they work with us as we adjust to their style of operating.

For the almost 700 Soldiers here, there are only about half a dozen Airmen. There are a few Explosive Ordnance Disposal Airmen here and some Joint Terminal Attack Controllers (the guys that coordinate air strikes etc.).

Life on the FOB: To give you an idea of how things are here; we are all staying in 12-man tents. Typically 6-8 people live in each one. We all sleep on cots (which have not been nice to my back) and we each have about a 7 x 7 area to call “home.”

In a large white tent we have some of the best food you’ll find in this area. In fact, every Friday we get steak, shrimp and lobster. Which, for what we are doing out here, it’s a little taste of back home that we deserve. Internet is scarce. There are six computers which have access to sites like this, facebook and e-mail. Typically there is an hour or so wait to get 30 minutes of computer time to quickly type out a quick message home before you are booted off. It’s better than nothing and I’ve learned to quit complaining. Mainly because if I talk I get a mouthful of sand.

We have a decent gym. In fact, if Rocky 6 comes out, this gym would probably be in it. It’s basically a canopy with camo netting down the sides and all kinds of free weights. When the sand isn’t pelting us, there’s a two-mile dirt running track that circles the base, which several of us run in the evening.

Work: The rest of our time is spent doing our various jobs. Whether it’s going out on patrol, conducting a humanitarian mission or staying, “inside the wire,” we all work together towards freeing this country of the rising insurgency. I’ve been reading a book on this area and I’ll post some of the interesting facts I’ve learned about the people and this country. For one, this province has the largest opium production in the entire world.

Alright, I’m off to fend through this sandstorm. Keep in touch.

8 Responses to “Sandblasted!”

  1. Poor Baby!! :( We miss you!!! I’m sorry it’s rough where your at but we are praying for you and love you!!!!!! We are so proud of you!! love Jen Gavin and Ava

  2. Hello! My boyfriend, Sgt. Jason Britton, is out there at Ft. Ramrod as well. He left Fort Carson CO on May 25th and since then I have been a slight wreck. This is my first experience with anything military related, and your posts have actually helped me a lot given that I don’t hear from him very often (and now I know why) :) Just wanted to let you know that someone over here in the states is going to be keeping tabs on these incredibly written stories and descriptions of your life out there. And if you happen to know or meet Jason along the way, tell him his girlfriend loves him! God bless you!

  3. Julie Bosch Says:

    Hi SSGt WEaver from bosch at eggers! I love reading your blog, you are SO brave and I mean that! Life is a little easier, but I also go outside the wire at least 5x/week to area hospitals to mentor nurses. crazy driving in the streets, but when I read your notes and remember how you laughed your way through CST and brought us all into your humor, honestly, it makes me feel even braver here in afghanistan and you know I am nervous about everything. Best to you, your gorgeous wife and 2 beautiful kids. I am here with tally and J Bye…waiting for wangen..sanders? I’ll be reading all about your adventures! JBosch

  4. cybrwareor Says:

    Hey dude, quit whining about the sand…you wouldn’t believe the harsh environment here in Germany! Shannon (Wangen), Renardo (Sanders) and I are “suffering” at a hotel bar in Bitburg because our airplane was struck by lightning…we’ll continue the journey tomorrow, hopefully!! :-D

  5. Ned St. John Says:

    I am amazed at the detail you are able to incorporate into your blog. All very interesting stuff, keep it coming! We are praying for your safety. Ned

  6. Betsy Stewart Says:

    I really appreciate your blog, keep it up. I have given your address out to quite a few people who just want to know what it’s like out there. You describe things very well. Good Luck and say Hi to Erica.
    Betsy Stewart

  7. do you know what it’s like cop?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

