Despite low supplies, tent almost built


So after four days, our rough tent has transformed into our new living quarters for the next few months. Despite an immense wood shortage, we managed to scrounge, beg and pilfer enough wood to complete our floor and frame out our rooms. I’ll take some pictures tomorrow to give you a better idea of our living conditions.

Now we wait for AC. But, at least we have a roof over our head and a bed to sleep in.

Tomorrow, I plan to build some shelving, a barber chair (I cut a lot of the guys hair on the FOB — we don’t have a barber), and put up a sun shade on our palletized porch. Good fun.

Then, unfortunately, I’ll have to hang my carpenter’s hat back up and go back to my real job. Not that I don’t love it; I’ve just been having a lot of fun building.

Anyway, have a great night and thanks for your comments. It’s always great hearing from you guys. Oh, yesterday was my 27th birthday. I didn’t get a cake, but i pretended to blow out candles on the fruit salad I had for dessert.

20 Responses to “Despite low supplies, tent almost built”

  1. Happy Birthday!

    I find cake a bit over-rated, I’m sure the fruit salad was so much better.

    It’s good to see that you have diverse talents, one doesn’t normally get a haircut by a builder. Maybe you should think of expanding your talents to masonry as well, what with the wood shortage and all. :)

  2. Happy belated birthday to you. Hopefully your customers remember to tip you nicely for the services rendered!

  3. OH NO, missed your birthday. HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY !!!

    If no cake, what would you really, really, really like to get… that’ll fit into those boxes and not melt and/or rot in the heat? Comeon, tell the truth. Chocolate pudding cups? Little Debbies? Rice Krispies treats? Homemade CC cookies? Inquiring minds want to know!
    Of course, you’ll have to give me your new address, which I’ve been meaning to ask for anyway.
    Stay safe. Stay cool. Don’t feel bad, 27 isn’t THAT old. XOXO

  4. Angela, Bryan, and Daniel Says:

    So glad you made it safely to your new digs. Although it doesn’t sound like the Ritz. When you are done your deployment, you will have to go with your wife to some place nice. You definitely deserve it!

    And think of the lack of cake this way…the fruit salad will HELP your goal of running a marathon. :)

    Still here praying for you on a daily basis. Forward me your new address so I can get something out in the mail to you. Hopefully you will get it this time! :)

  5. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET AN ACCOUNT AND IT FINALLY WENT THROUGH. BUT I WANTED TO THANK YOU FOR ALL THESE AMAZING POSTS WITH THE PHOTOS AND ALL. THEY ARE GREATLY APPRECIATED. ITS VERY COOL MY BROTHER WAS AT RAMROD AND NOW AT WILSON. IVE BEEN HOPING TO SEE A PIC OF HIM BUT IM GONNA KEEP LOOKING. THANK YOU FOR SERVING AND WE PRAY FOR ALL OF YOU AND THINK ABOUT YOU GUYS ALL THE TIME. HAPPY LATE BIRTHDAY AND GOD BLESS

    • Hey,
      Let me know who your brother is and I’ll see if I have his photo. Otherwise, I’ll try and get a shot of him and send it your way. Glad you were able to get an account. Take care!

  6. Happy Belated Birthday,

    How do I find out if the soldier I adopted has moved to FOB Wilson? He seems to be a silent soldier so far (I have yet to get a response from him!) I am in the process of sending a package, and really need to know before I send it out.

    Thanks,
    Jan

  7. HIS NAME IS PFC RICHARD HEDGER. I KNOW HE IS COMING HOME SOON FOR HIS 2 WEEK LEAVE. THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH. AND GOD BLESS YOU

  8. Hope the new fob works out for you guys……..

  9. im sorry im not sure if it helps but my brother is in the 1/12 in alpha company. have a great night and be safe

  10. barbara battiste Says:

    Don’t know if my comment yesterday got through, but my son, who is an Army Captain, also had his birthday (26th) on Sept. 13. He was with you in Ramrod and is now with you in Wilson.

    Happy Birthday!

  11. Is C company at Wilson with you?
    Haven’t gotten any “official” word yet, but the official announcements are kinda slow . I get all my info. from you, anyway! I’m just trying to keep track of Tim, ’cause that’s what Moms do.

  12. Just wanted to thank you for your posts and for your service to our country. I know the living arrangements are not the best and I feel for you. My son in law is in Spin Buldak and they are just beginning to get things squared away. I will keep you guys in my prayers.

  13. Leah & Braylin Says:

    Happy belated birthday! It is my husbands birthday tonight and it makes me so sad to know he wont be having a cake (Im sure your family felt the same way) Ive been following your blog since my hubby deployed thank you for keeping everyone updated. He was at RATH while you were at RAMROD but now it looks like you both are at WIlson together. I hope you guys get phones soon!

  14. Marianne Burke Says:

    Thank you so much for your info on FOB Wilson . My son is with Dog Company and is moving from COP Rath. He just got back from his two weeek leave and going to a new location. Was excited about the thought of wireless but it sounds like it won’t last for long. God Bless all of you and good luck putting together your new place. Happy belated birthday ! If you see my son, SPC Kevin Burke tell him hello. All of our prayers are with you guys. Stay safe.

  15. “Maybe you should think of expanding your talents to masonry as well, what with the wood shortage and all. :)”

    Yea, the Afghan’s are masters of building with dirt, straw and water. Get a few lessons and build you some real living quarters.

    Like they would even let you.

    Take care and thanks for your efforts.

    Continue the Mission

    Papa Ray
    West Texas

  16. Idea — If I send a wireless router or two over there can they be used to provide access when the Canadians depart?

    • sadly, we wouldn’t be able to use them for various reasons. It’s a great idea — I even thought of it. I wish the military would make it a priority for our guys!

  17. Hi. I’m not sure who I’m sending this to, but you are in my prayers. My nephew was stationed at FOB Wilson – Canadian. I’m assuming you may be American from the way some of the comments read. My nephew was PTE Michael Freeman and he started a driving range there. Do you golf in between the carpentry and stuff? I send packages to a soldier in one of the groups there. I’ve appreciated this blog. It gives me a bit of an insight. Thanks so much. God bless you in all you do.

  18. mikenichols Says:

    COULD YOU LOOK UP Nichols, Michael
    B Co 1-12 In 1st PLT
    fob Wilson
    APO. AE 09355
    SAY HI BE SAFE AND SEND PICTURES
    HAVE ANOTHER FRIEND STU SEE
    http://stuinafghanistan.blogspot.com/ HE’S EOD TEACHING NATIONALS
    BE SAFE.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

