A much-needed update


Hi everyone,

Let’s start off with today. I’m at Kandahar for a day to resupply on the necessities. We were running low on laundry soap and other essentials. I was hoping to pick up a small fridge, but they only had 220V fridges. No benne! Oh well. Warm water it is.

MAIL: So, all mail is being redirected to Wilson. If you Ramrodded it, don’t worry. It’s been showing up here at Wilson. For future reference, just switch FOB names and keep the rest the same.

Life on the FOB so far. Well, a new chow hall has opened although the Tuesday menu has stayed the same. Which means nothing but cereal, soup, and scrounge-a-meal-on-your-own. I hear rumors that the Tuesday famine might be changing. We’ll keep our stomachs crossed until then.

Some interesting news. I’ve arranged for Good Morning America to come out and cover the battalion. I can’t give exact dates, but I will be posting the dates that they will be shooting live the day or morning of the shoots. Keep an eye out for it, you’ll probably see some Soldiers you know on the show! Pretty cool, I thought so too.

What else can I tell you about the FOB. Oh, ok. We have a sand volleyball court. Typically you’ll find teams playing in the early evening when things cool off. The Canadian wireless internet is hit and miss — and from what I hear, is soon going to be a complete miss. Hopefully our S6 (comms) shop will have the MWR computers hooked up soon. Until then, we are fortunate to have the wireless.

Phones: Currently, there are no DSN phones to use unless Soldiers ask their company commanders to borrow their office phones. It’s in the works and routine calling should be available soon. So, it’s not that your hubby or wife doesn’t want to chat — they just don’t have the ability to do so.

Work: Things have been slow transitioning to the new FOB. Soldiers have been busy building their tents and making this “homey.” They are trying to clear a field for football and soccer and a running track should be grated soon. (We hope)

I’ve got some new pictures to post, but my camera is back at Wilson. I return shortly and will have some new ones to post.

Oh, we have a 30-45 minute wait for chow everyday. Why, you ask? Because they typically run out of food and if you don’t get there early, you usually end up with the scraps. Which, for those of us that could stand to lose a few pounds, it isn’t such a bad thing!

Alright, send me any questions you might have. Take care and I’ll be posting more frequently as long as the internet connection sticks with me.

9 Responses to “A much-needed update”

  1. Yea! Finally some news from Afghanistan. When you go such a long time without posting something our minds fear the worst. Although that makes our prayers more fervent, it is always good to get an update whenever that can happen. Look forward to seeing you on GMA.

  2. Thanks for the update. Patience is difficult. It is hard to wait on those e-mails, but hearing that internet is hit or miss eases my mind a little. Volleyball sounds great. Do you guys have a good net, or should I look into sending one over? Can you give us a list of the top things besides snacks that would be best to send to this particular FOB?

    Thanks!

    Oh, and I am VERY excited about Good Morning America!

  3. hey thanks for the update. my brother is home for his r and r it is amazing.

  4. Sgt Thomas Says:

    Just wondering if the Starvation Tuesdays are going to change any time soon? How does the Army get away with not, at the least, giving their soldiers MRE’s to supplement meals? My family is in the process of gathering easy to heat up canned foods for my son and his buddies (also in your Co.) so they don’t have to eat granola bars all day on Tuesdays, and might have a hot lunch the rest of the week as well. I know that Chow is at least a few minutes a day that you can sit and relax and get a hot meal in your stomach. I’m outraged that there is no meal offered on Tuesdays. Do you know if this is going to change or should I start writing my Senator soon?

  5. Hello, I did see Good Morning America at FOB Wilson this morning.
    If you guys would like troop support, Booksforsoldiers.com would love
    to help you out with care packages. Just go to our site and post a request or send me an email with your request. And if you would like clothing, toys, school supplies to give to the children in your area, we send those also. So get in contact with me if you are interested.
    Janet
    Booksforsodliers, Administration

    • Janet,
      I’d like more information about this. I’ll log on to your site tomorrow and put in a request. We could always use toys/supplies to give the children as well. Thanks for your offer!

  6. Hello, I did see Good Morning America at FOB Wilson this morning.
    If you guys would like troop support, Booksforsoldiers.com would love
    to help you out with care packages. Just go to our site and post a request or send me an email with your request. And if you would like clothing, toys, school supplies to give to the children in your area, we send those also. So get in contact with me or our site if you are interested.
    Janet
    Booksforsoldiers, Administration

  7. Tori Ring Says:

    Thank you so much for all of the info! My son is in transit there to Fob Wilson and you’ve helped me to be able to imagine him in his surroundings! Will work on getting food and supplies sent for you guys!! Food is a necessity!

  8. Hi!. Thanks for the blog. I’ve been digging around for info, but there is so much out there. Yahoo lead me here – good for you i suppose! Keep up the great information. I will be coming back in a couple of days to see if there is updated posts.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

