Hitting the home stretch


For those of you who have been following this blog, I’m finally on the homestretch of Combat Skills Training (CST). I wasn’t sure this moment would ever get here, but we are almost there. One week left and I’m currently spending it at a “forward operating base,” on a back range at Fort Dix, NJ. The Army has put a lot of effort into replicating the conditions here that we’ll find when we deploy.

As one major I am training here with said, “It’s kind of like a halfway house that gets you ready for going downrange.” I’ll take some photos later today to have posted to give you a better idea of what I’m talking about. We stay in large tents that can sleep 16. Thankfully the tents are big enough to have bunk beds and adequate heat, although I woke up at 5 a.m. on the rather chilly side.

We are in training all day, but I’ll add more to this later.

2 Responses to “Hitting the home stretch”

  1. Praying for you as you head out soon! Thanks for keeping us updated by these posts.

  2. Kristi Walters Says:

    Thanks for putting together such an excellent blog. It has helped me understand a little better what my husband is doing every day. Hope you all are doing well. Only one week left! Woot!

Leave a Reply

