What a day


I just got back from a very long day! My goodness. Who would have thought the second to last day of training would be one of the most boring of the month? Today was Convoy training, which sounds cool — Drive in a HMMWV and learn how to get out of an ambush, avoid IEDs (Improvised Explosive Devices) and how to assault the enemy. Well, true to Army standards we died in an onslaught of powerpoint.

It was unending. Thankfully the monotony was broken up with several practical exercises in the Hummers. Unfortunately, the majority of the training was in a dark, humid tent where one couldn’t help but nod off. Tomorrow will be another long day but we will actually be driving in a convoy that will be ambushed, attacked and “blown up.” So, things are looking up.

It’s hard to believe this month of training is coming to an end; while my journey to Afghanistan is just beginning. I started this blog out of boredom in an airport terminal and it’s been neat to see it evolve over the past few weeks. I hope those we have come across it have a better understanding of what our military is doing in today’s “War on Terror,” and how they prepare us for going downrange. It will be exciting to see the work we are doing over there and how we are changing the country for the better.

The next time you see a military member or their family, thank them for the sacrifice they have made for the freedom we take for granted. For the most part, we have a good job, great benefits and a secure roof over our heads. I didn’t realize the true sacrifice I made until I was told I would be deploying for almost seven months. Leaving my family, friends and comfortable lifestyle to trudge the Afghan desert in body armor, weapons and living out of a tent or rucksack isn’t easy, but until the Taliban and the rest of the insurgents find a different target or are elminated, it’s what we need to do.

2 Responses to “What a day”

  1. Daddy, I’m proud of you doing everything and I love you and I have new playdough. You can’t see my playdough but you can play with me when you get back. And I love you super much and I have alot of friends. I love you way more much! I am very happy and I love you training and I’ll write a flower to you. Love Gavin (age 4)

  2. Angela, Bryan, and Daniel Says:

    I just have to say again, thank you so much for doing what you do. And thank you for sharing your experience with us. I have really enjoyed learning about how they train you guys to do what you do. I think I have a little bit more of an understanding. So thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

