United Airlines earn coveted A+ Weaver award


That’s right. Take any negative feelings you had for UA and throw them out the window. Today they went from mediocre to Awesome-dosom! What’s that you ask? Why? Because I’m writing this fully stretched out in Business class. Let’s backtrack real quick.

I believe in always asking for the moon. The worst you might get is the stars or maybe a simple no. But, every once in a while, you get handed the moon. Today, it’s in the palm of my hands. Before we boarded the flight to Germany, I let the UA attendant know that I and three others were heading to Germany and then on to Afghanistan. I asked if we could get upgraded to Business Class since I heard the flight was full.

She took my name, but it didn’t sound promising. Five minutes before we boarded, my nervousness was washed away with relief when I heard my name and the three others in our party called over the loud speaker. It seems they had worked it out and in two minutes our coach seats were switched to business. They then thanked us for our service to our country and wished us a safe trip.

I’d always boarded a plane with severe envy as I walked past the business class elite — stretched out and relaxing while being waited on by personal servers. Well, now that’s me, and I could really get used to this.

So, United, you get two big thumbs up for taking care of four servicemembers. Keep it up, I’ll be back in six months and I wouldn’t mind the same treatment! -)

On a side note, as I walked through the airport in my uniform, I felt humbled as people repeatedly stopped and thanked me for my service. The media doesn’t portray what the average American seems to think of the military. The people I met are proud of what we are doing and hope everyone comes back in one piece. Let’s spread that message. How about it?

9 Responses to “United Airlines earn coveted A+ Weaver award”

  1. Julie Bosch Says:

    SSgt Weaver! Yeah for you in the business class!!!! Hope you get to home to your family! Also had a great experience in Philly airport with 4 of our classmates. We were literally “whisked” through security together and then off to the USO for relaxation, away from the chaos of the airport. I, like you, also heard from (I stopped counting at 6!) multiple people in the airport and they all thanked me for my service. I always feel as if I haven’t done anything. ‘course, I didn’t ask for first-class! Great idea!

    Thanks for the CD of the class. Just watched it with my kids. Great to have completed CST with you! Hope to see you downrange. Best, JBosch

  2. Wow, that is great you all were up-graded! Way to go UA! I love that people went up to you to thank you. I always try to do that too whenever possible. I can’t even begin to imagine the sacrifice of being away from family for so long, putting myself in that kind of danger for my country, or the mental stress and depression that causes. So, THANK YOU JUSTIN! and will be praying for you.
    Did you get a change to sneak home while in Germany?

  3. YOU suck we got stuck back in the back. Anyway i hope you got to go home and see the wife and kids. be safe and we’ll see you over there.

    Wrench

  4. May your entire journey be as easy.

  5. Weave —
    Congratulations on the upgrade! Hopefully, I’ll be that lucky!!

    sidenote — typo. Microsoft word has failed you. its “The people I met ARE proud” not OUR.

    I got your back, Sergeant!

    • jetgwot Says:

      Sometimes I leave typos in there to see if anyone is actually reading my blog. Good to see you caught my switcharoo there. Keep in touch and see you in a few days. Tell the hubby I said hello!

  6. Jeannie Says:

    It’s awesome that you and your men were upgraded, I think ALL servicemen and servicewomen should get first class treatment. Have a safe trip and an even safer tour. God Bless you for serving our country.

    • jetgwot Says:

      Thanks for your prayers! I got to go home for four days to see my wife and two kids before I head out for six months! It was wonderful to see them. Hopefully we can continue to make a difference downrange.

  7. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

Leave a Reply

