Back on the road


Well, the journey continues … I leave tomorrow morning for Germany and then from there I’ll be ferried around from one country to another until I get to Afghanistan. Time has flown by since I found out seven weeks ago that I would be heading downrange. From getting everything sorted at home with the family, to intense Army training, I’m ready to get this deployment underway.

It was great to come home for a few days, it’s just that much harder to say goodbye. Especially since my kids don’t really understand why daddy has to go “help” other people in another country. “Daddy, stay and help people here,” said my four-year-old son, who wishes I didn’t have to be gone until Christmas.

Thanks for all your messages and comments throughout the training. I look forward to keeping in touch with everyone as my journey continues.

2 Responses to “Back on the road”

  1. Joe,DEP AF Says:

    Hows it going?

    Just curious, did you volunteer for your deployment with the US ARMY?

    • jetgwot Says:

      Hey there Joe,
      We fill JET (Joint Expeditionary Taskings) from the Army all the time. You can volunteer for these positions, but more than likely, if you are in the Air Force, you are going to be tasked to fill these at one point or another without raising your hand. But, the moment you raise your hand, you can guarantee you’ll be grabbed to go — you just never know where they’ll send you.

Leave a Reply

