Another Ramrod kind of day


So, it’s hot here. Only getting hotter from what I understand. That’s alright, it’s not very humid, so it’s manageable.

I went running last night to see if my lofty goal of 27 miles was far-fetched. My goal was to run a third of the distance. I actually survived and finished 9 miles in a little under an hour and a half. Not bad. The medical officer said he’d be on hand in case I needed some IVs when I finished my marathon attempt. That’s right, I said finished! I will finish; even if I have to crawl across the finish line.

Ramrod: So, the 1-12th Infantry Regiment is in charge of the Maywand District here in Afghanistan. There job is to combat the insurgents in the area, uncover weapon’s caches and basically make it safer for the general population, who want nothing to do with the Taliban or foreign  fighters here.

Sorry to cut this short, but I have to run. Tomorrow is Father’s Day, so if you have a dad here you’d like me to pass a message on, let me know!

2 Responses to “Another Ramrod kind of day”

  1. Jeannie Says:

    Happy Father’s Day. Stay safe.

  2. Happy Father’s Day. I’m still hung up on the fact that you are just a babe yourself – not even 27 yet!

Leave a Reply

