Gettin' in touch

Soldiers take advantage of the Canadian's wireless internet. At night, it's like a cluster of fireflies as everyone fights for connectivity.

The line for lunch and dinner typically averages 30-40 minutes. If you don't wait in line, you run the risk of getting no food at all.

The line for lunch and dinner typically averages 30-40 minutes. If you don't wait in line, you run the risk of getting no food at all.

My tent

My tent

EOD bomb team on a British Operation

EOD bomb team on a British Operation

EOD on patrol

EOD on patrol

Tank power

Tank power

Our first sandstorm at Wilson. Lasted close to 4 hours.

Our first sandstorm at Wilson. Lasted close to 4 hours.

Chinook leaving Canadian base

A Canadian tank with an awesome backdrop at a base 20 minutes from here.

A Canadian tank with an awesome backdrop at a base 20 minutes from here.

7 Responses to “”

  1. The backdrops in Afghanastan are much more dramatic than Iraq.

  2. Angela, Bryan, and Daniel Says:

    Glad to see you are back online (at least for now). The pictures are great! I liked the idea of taking a child with you to go shopping for a package to send to you guys. The only problem with that is that if I let Daniel pick out whatever he wanted, you would get balls, blocks, fruit snacks, pretzels, and some Mickey Mouse movies. 🙂

    I will be praying that you guys are able to stay connected to the internet and that you especially will be able to make phone calls home. I am sure your family really misses talking to you. Know that you are in my constant prayers.

    Keep up the updates. I love reading them!

  3. I don’t know If I said it already but …Great site…keep up the good work. 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read….

  4. Hey, my bf is currently at FOB Wilson, a USAF TACP, SSgt. Jacob Torgerson. Good to see you all are enjoying the kitty litter as much as possible. Stay safe!

    • Hey Jenn,
      Yeah, he rooms in our tent. Good guy…for the most part, except he talks to much about you. Crazy how women make some men… 🙂

  5. SGT Thomas Says:

    The Canadians suck, what with their passwords on the internet and lack of ability to feed you guys well. Remind me not to ever serve under them.
    SEnding a shout out to my son, PFC Jeremy Thomas.

  6. doug lawrence Says:

    Greetings fine sir my son Andrew Lawrence is there with you now as of two weeks ago. If you pass him in the sand between the hutches can you halla at him. “Lawrence chin up head down soldier.” That has always been my little greeting of appreciation and love to him. He will probably smile and simply walk away, break down and cry later. would flystripes help out with the problem or would that be considered cruel and unusual punishment to the enemy lol thanks ooh raa Lawrence

Leave a Reply

