We remember


Soldiers honor fallen hero

FORWARD OPERATING BASE WILSON, Afghanistan – Soldiers from the 1st Battalion, 12th Infantry Regiment mourned the loss of a fallen Soldier during a memorial service Oct. 29 at Forward Operating Base Wilson.

PFC Devin J. Michel, of Stockton, Ill., died Oct. 24 when enemy forces attacked his platoon with an improvised explosive device. PFC Michel joined the Army in 2008 and deployed to Afghanistan on May 24, 2009. He leaves behind his wife, Anika.

“It is absolutely devastating to lose him to an incident like this after we have begun to make a difference in this critical area of Afghanistan,” said LTC Reik Andersen, 1-12 IN commander. “Our current successes on the field of battle can be squarely set on his shoulders as well as the shoulders of his valiant comrades of 3rd Platoon.”

Soldiers from the 1-12 IN Battalion Charlie Company, 3rd Platoon, remembered PFC Michel for his ability to make you laugh, his calm under fire and his unfaltering work ethic.

“Devin’s positive attitude, unwavering determination and courage are all qualities that he displayed on a daily basis,” said CPT Duke Reim, C-CO commander, as he recalled Michel in a firefight, firing his M4, radio strapped to his back, pausing to call up reports in between magazine changes. “Cool and calm, ‘The Rock,’” he said. “These I think will solidify his legacy among all who knew him. He is the very finest of America’s sons and we will always remember him.” Condolences

Friends of Michel — Soldiers who worked with him everyday — talked about the man they had grown to love.

“Devin Jay Michel was possibly one of the brightest, most courageous, dedicated men I have ever known,” said. PFC Robert Lyons, who talked about Michel giving up a basketball scholarship to instead join the U.S. Army and serve his country. “He was my best friend, my fellow Soldier, but more importantly, he was my brother. I love you Devin.”

SPC Tony Ruiz spoke of Michel as a friend who was always there for him.

“Michel was one of a kind, whose personality spoke for itself to those who knew him,” said Ruiz. “He touched our lives in his own way and became our brother. Until the time comes for us to meet at Heaven’s door, be at peace. Rest easy my brother, for the line has held, your job is done.”

The service ended with a 21-gun salute, taps and a flyover by two OH-58 Kiowa helicopters. Digital pictures of PFC Michel flashed on a screen before the memorial and as music played, hundreds of mourners moved in a long line in front of a set of symbolic remains to pay their last respects.

“Never drafted into war, Devin volunteered, in an America where things were good – no depression – he wanted to serve,” said Reim. “Michel gallantly approached his destiny with the family of C Company. Together, he has given selflessly to a noble cause. May God continue to bless us and guide our actions; and may he comfort Devin’s family in this, their time of need.”

 

This was written by SPC Tony Ruiz for PFC Devin Michel. May it comfort you during this difficult time. Please keep his wife Anika in your prayers.

I’m free

Don’t grieve for me, for now I’m free,

I’m following the path God laid for me,

I took his hand when I heard him call,

I turned my back and left it all.

 

I could not stay another day,

To laugh, to love, to work or play,

Tasks left undone must stay that way,

I found that place at the close of day

 

If my parting has left a void,

Then fill it with remembered joy,

A friendship shared, a laugh, a kiss,

Ah yes, these things, I too will miss.

 

Be not burdened with times of sorrow,

I wish you the sunshine of tomorrow,

My life’s been full, I’ve savored much,

Good friends, good times, a loved one’s touch.

 

Perhaps my time seems all too brief;

Don’t lengthen it now with undue grief,

Lift up your heart and share with me,

God wanted me now – He set me free

10 Responses to “We remember”

  1. Betsy Stewart Says:

    Justin, this was a beautiful commentary. I paray for your safety this next month, and of course for all of the other young soldiers.

  2. Betsy Stewart Says:

    I’ m sorry, I meant pray not paray.

  3. This is so beautiful. I will keep Anika in my prayers as well as the rest of 1-12. You boys be safe.

  4. This has been a difficult week all around,for you guys out their in the middle of it – to the families back home,We pray to keep you all safe,we,pray the bad news does not come to our front door.and we pray for those that have served so bravely,but will not be coming home .
    Strength can be found in many ways – your own company will find its strength from within,There is no greater strength that that of a parent when it comes to caring for their own,but caring for their own also includes caring for anyone that is involved,If there is anything that any family needs,let it be known,We,the famlies on the outside find strength from helping you along.We are all on the same team.We all want the same thing- for our soldiers to be safe and cared for by their fellow soldiers and their families.The circle of kindness will help us all get thru these times.
    If anyone knows my son Christian Greenleaf–tell him his mom loves him.

  5. Hagenmary Says:

    Mel, beautifully said.
    This Army Mom agrees; they are ALL our kids. And my mothers heart is breaking for Devin and his family, friends & fellow soldiers.l

  6. Jill Williams Says:

    My husband is over there with you Justin. I’ve let other wives know about your site and we are all so thankful for the information and photos that you share. We always talk about how our guys know where we are, they can picture our surroundings, and they can relate to what we are doing back here, but we have a hard time doing the same for them. Thank you for giving us a little more insight.

    Mel – I really appreciated your posting. My husband and I know Christian, and I just wanted to let you know that I pray for him every day.

  7. Kelly Jay Says:

    I pray for all of you. The poem was beautiful. Please take care of one another.

    Andrew Jay’s Mom
    1-12 Dog Co.

  8. Angela, Bryan, and Daniel Says:

    That was a great article. And the poem at the end was so touching! So glad that your time is almost up! Will continue to pray for you. If there is ever anything else I can do please do NOT hesitate to ask. 🙂

  9. hey i havent seen you post anything in a little while hope all is well and your doing ok. I hope you got to attend the nfl pregame that was held at the bagram airfield i belive. It was nice we got to watch it on tv here it was nice to see all the guys over there having a good time and a little taste of home.. Hope to see a post soon

  10. Me too, gettin’ worried. What ya doin’ and how’s things goin’?
    Hoping that you-all will be gettin’ technology SOON… I have Skype & a web camera all set up & ready to go!
    Be careful, be safe and remember that we’re all thinking about you.

Leave a Reply

