Heading home


Well, over the past month, I havn’t been able to get access to my blog. As I said before, the internet here is lacking. They are still trying to get MWR computers/phones setup, but it still looks like it’s another month out. I’ll try and post at least one more detailed wrap-up of my time here, but my six month tour has finally come to an end. It’s been great getting to know everyone that found comfort and encouragement through my postings. I’m glad I was able to at least provide some additional information about the battalion and what the Soldiers were dealing with here. Sadly, no one will be taking over this blog. I’ll post a little more later about my time here…

20 Responses to “Heading home”

  1. Thanks for all the hard work you and the rest of the troops are doing there. I have really enjoyed your blog. Enjoy your countdown to a reunion with your family.

  2. While I’ll miss your blog and the great photos, I’m so glad your tour is nearly at an end. Many thanks for your service and for the efforts in keeping people abrest of the situation.

    I wonder, could you tell me if you’ve heard about or seen a rather large skull-shaped pinata at Wilson? Odd question, but I’m interested to know if things have been delivered.

  3. I have enjoyed your blog and looked forward to new postings. I’m glad you get to go home, but will miss your blog. Thanks for all the information and pictures you provided.

  4. Thanks SO much for your posts. It’s made it easier to get through these months with my son gone. He will be home for R&R in December which is a great blessing to us as I’m sure you going home will be to your family. Maybe when he gets back the internet will be up and running and we’ll be able to communicate more than we are able to now.

    Thanks for all you’ve done to make a military mom very happy. God bless you.

  5. I always have mixed emotions when one of you milblogs are done with your deployment. On the one hand I am very glad you are coming home safely to be with your family and friends again. On the other hand, I will miss you words and photos. It is always fun to get to know you for a little while at least. May you have a blessed life.

  6. I’m so glad you’re finally getting to return home to your family, but I have to say I’m very sad to see you, well at least your blog, go. Your postings were a great relief when the time between phone calls and emails with my husband were almost too much to bear. They made me feel closer to him in the moments when I felt the farthest apart. Please impart to others there at Wilson how important this blog has been to the loved ones back home and see if you can’t find someone who’s willing to take it over. Thank you so much for all that you’ve done; it has meant the world to me.

  7. :::GASP::: NO! Say it isn’t so! I had heard through the grapevine that you would be leaving soon. Where will I get such awesome photos of my husband? And updates? No really, thank you so much for keeping us informed and for the wonderful candid photos. Congrats on finishing up your time there and getting to go home. You and your family must be thrilled! Where is home, are you based in Colorado as well?

  8. barbara battiste Says:

    Congratulations on finishing your tour! Your blog has been a lifeline for all of us. We’re all so concerned about our loved ones over there and so desperate for news. Thank you from the depths of our hearts.

  9. Christopher Coughlin Says:

    Please ask an NCO or Officer to continue this Blog. My brother is in the Battallion and this has been the best way for me to keep an eye on him.

    Thank you for all you have posted.

  10. Congrats on almost being ready to head home. Hope the trip to Africa goes well. Thanks for all the info you’ve given us. Maybe you’ll keep the blog up so we can see pictures of Africa???

  11. Jill Williams Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing all of the information and photographs with us. It really has made this deployment easier to endure. I was thankful when I came across your blog and I’m sad to know that it will be ending, but I’m SO happy that you get to return to your family. Good luck and my prayers are with you and all of our guys.

  12. Thank you so much for all the pictures and the great information you have shared with us during the past 6 months.. I know you have made a huge difference on many people’s lives keeping us informed out here on the situation over there with our soldiers!
    MANY MANY THANK YOUs!!!!.. Wish you the best for you and your family always!!! We are all very proud of you!, Keep up the great job and enjoy your family and your trip to Africa!!!! Many Blessings!

  13. Thankyou so much for this blog! It helped get me through some rough days. Hope you have a sweet reunion with your family!

  14. Chief Jake Weaver Willcox P.D. Says:

    Justin take care and thanks a million! You have done a great job, enjoy your reunion and time with your family, if you are ever in southeast Arizona stop by it would be an honor to meet you face to face God Bless!
    AIRPOWER!

  15. Susan Lozada Says:

    Your blog will be truly missed. I check it every day. My son-in-law is stationed there and it was nice to kind of “peak in” and see what was going on at FOB Wilson. Thanks again for sending me one of the pictures I requested. Wishing you and your family a wonderful and blessed reunion. May the Lord continue to keep you safe and bless you for your willingness to share with others and to serve our country. Take care.

  16. Your blog will be sorely missed. Ever think about a book of all of your photos and blog entries? I’m sure it would sell like hotcakes!

    Well done, Airman – keep ’em flying!

  17. , I’m torn between JOY for you and your family and selfishly sad that I won’t get to hear from you any more! But relief & happiness win out; you’ve done a fantastic job on so many levels.
    I’ll miss your updates & pictures… you’ll never know how they’ve helped me get through my sons 1st deployment.
    Justin, you’ve earned a whole lotta “Good Guy” points over the last months, and I hope things go smoothly for you & your family.
    Keep my email address…if I can ever do anything for YOU, just lemme know!
    ROCK AND ROLL!!

  18. I am so glad that you get to go home and be were you belong… Looking at your pictures it looks like you have a wife and son but i could be wrong if you do i am sure you will be the best Christmas present…. Thank you so much for your service and all you have done here on this site for us it was gratefully appreciated. I wish you the best, god bless you

  19. Betsy Stewart Says:

    I’m so glad that you are going home, and like many others will miss your blog. It really lets us here at home understand more of whatl’s going on there. Hope to catch up with you again, and best wishes and good luck to you and your family

  20. What a relief to you and your family that you are going to be back home again soon.Congratulations on a job well done.Your information and pictures have helped so many families and friends.

    A few words can make such a large impact. The difference you have made for us is powerful on so many levels,in that,when you have not heard anything from your soldier in weeks,a mother might be tempted to send out a letter full of the dreaded questions like,why don’t we hear from you,have you forgotton about us, you PROMISED me you would write,BlaBlaBla.Your information has changed that letter to a more positive letter of,” Everything is fine at home.I hear communication is really difficult for you,what can we do back home to help with that? What do you need to help you thru this”? So you can see that your information has made a powerful and positive impact on all of us.

    That being said, I really do hope that someone will offer to take this blog over and keep the hope alive.If not, perhaps those of us at home could put together a support/information link to share.Just a thought….

Leave a Reply

